Hitch your wagon to a star..

Thanks to my little widget, I’ve been enjoying plowing through reams of Ralph Waldo Emerson quotes. Here are some that caught my imagination..

The key to every man is his thought. Sturdy and defying though he look, he has a helm which he obeys, which is the idea after which all his facts are classified. He can only be reformed by showing him a new idea which commands his own.

People seem not to see that their opinion of the world is also a confession of their character.

Our chief want in life is somebody who shall make us do what we can.

Let not a man guard his dignity, but let his dignity guard him.

Those who cannot tell what they desire or expect, still sigh and struggle with indefinite thoughts and vast wishes.

Truth is beautiful, without doubt; but so are lies.

Sometimes a scream is better than a thesis.

Speak what you think today in hard words and tomorrow speak what tomorrow thinks in hard words again, though it contradict every thing you said today.

He who is in love is wise and is becoming wiser, sees newly every time he looks at the object beloved, drawing from it with his eyes and his mind those virtues which it possesses.

A man builds a fine house; and now he has a master, and a task for life; he is to furnish, watch, show it, and keep it in repair, the rest of his days.

If I have lost confidence in myself, I have the universe against me.

I pack my trunk, embrace my friends, embark on the sea, and at last wake up in Naples, and there beside me is the Stern Fact, the Sad Self, unrelenting, identical, that I fled from.

And. my favourite..

I hate quotations. Tell me what you know.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

