Maestro

So, this is the year the Academy decides to right old wrongs. Four for Scorsese, and now an Honorary Academy Award for the Man himself? Well, pfah! If Raging Bull losing to, er.. Ordinary People signalled the end of any credibility the Academy may have had in movie terms, then Morricone’s wonderful score for The Mission being passed over in favour of Round Midnight (Round Midnight, ferchrissake!) in ’86 was a similar death knell regarding their judgement in the world of soundtracks. I like Eastwood’s dry comment – “.. The Academy, in all its wisdom..”. Numbskulls, the lot of ’em..

Anyway, congratulations Maestro Morricone. Finally.

(Thanks to Bonho for pointing me at this clip)

4 thoughts on “Maestro

  1. If he’d been a Hollywood shmoozer, (having lunches, being at parties, taking full page ads in Variety glorifying himself), it would’ve happened when it was supposed to.
    Garbage.
    Clint Eastwood wasn’t just the presenter and interpreter. He was the lobbyist.

  2. I didn’t watch the AA’s myself, but I’d learned of Maestro Morricone’s award from page A-2 of my local newspaper, which stated that he’d received the longest ovation of the night at 48 seconds. Was a pleasure to read, and a great joy to learn that the Academy had finally gotten their heads out of their collective asses.

  3. The music from The Mission is among my most favourite compositions. I was 16, fancied the pants off Aidan Quinn and Liam Neeson, thought Jeremy Irons was the bees knees, and had never knowingly heard anything by Morricone before.

    I went to see the film with the shallowest of motives and came away utterly possessed by the oboe, the Guarana choir and just about everything that the music encompassed – passion, passivity, struggle, dementia.

    I nagged and nagged and nagged until my brother eventually went to HMV in Oldham and ordered the OST (because why would HMV in Oldham stock anything as classy as a film score?)

    As I got older, my brother shared with me his love for Eastwood as an actor (and I can’t believe that he’s 77 this year – Eastwood is eternal, surely?) and I was bathed in more of Morricone’s work.

    There was a long hiatus, when I more or less forgot about the Spaghetti Westerns and The Mission, until you, Sir Count, gatecrashed my life.

    Even though I don’t want to know you any more, the recollection of the Leone Westerns and Morricone’s music is something I’m grateful for.

    You bastard.

  4. Eastwood is not eternal. He wears old man pants now.

    I loved the Mission because that was when deNiro got his groove back.

    Oh, and the music. Yeah. Duh.

Leave a Reply

