deja what?

Currently watching some sad group of people called Snowpatrol. They’re in Abbey Rd. God knows why. They’ve spent the last five minutes trying to convince me that 2 bars of I followed by two bars of IV is somehow challenging. It’s certainly challenging my patience. What is it with with I and IV that signifies teen rebellion? Is it just ineptitude? These people are by no means teenagers, but they certainly are inept. Absolute bloody rubbish, this whole school of whatever it is. Well, we saw MC5, Velvet Underground, New Order play those chords, so they’re the only ones in our vocabulary. Grow up, you sad excuses for adults, and don’t you dare call yourselves musicians..

13 thoughts on “deja what?

  1. Religion is opium for the masses.

    Snow Patrol is emotion for the mundane.

    See also: U2, REM, Muse, oh yes and Red Hot Chili Peppers (which I see you already have).

    There is nothing new under the sun. You might as well give up.

    It’s interesting. I listen to your stuff, and I like it, it’s easy, but sometimes I think “Yeah, Richard Carpenter wrote that bit. Oh, that’s a fairly standard Motown piano riff. And here’s a bit of Burt..”

    Anyway, whatever. Live From Abbey Road, or whatever it’s called, is nothing more than Channel 4’s answer to Later with Jools Holland. Some middle aged (your aged?) music exec’s idea of raw talent and boundary pushing music.

    Shame on you for watching it, Connell. Music (or at least ‘popular rock music’) doesn’t belong to your generation or even mine any more.

    Alternatively, they must be doing something in order to get your ire up. Maybe they’re music’s Jack Kerouac..

  2. I’m unfamiliar with Snow Patrol, but the world is full of that kind of trash…Don’t you think we need more?
    Ha! I certainly don’t have the patience of countlazarus…3 notes and I turn it off.
    I don’t know Oldham either, but I’m left feeling somewhat doubtful of his familiarity with the overall process of music compostion.
    When something results in “sounding easy”, achieving that result usually wasn’t.
    On the other hand, Snow Patrol may be the exception. I haven’t heard them, but I don’t think I have to.

  3. A quote from “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” comes to mind…

    Devon: Man, we need a roadie. Other bands have roadies.
    Oz: Well, other bands know more than three chords. Your professional bands can play up to six, sometimes seven completely different chords.
    Devon: That’s just, like, fruity jazz bands.

  4. Oldham – yes, we all have influences, I don’t dispute that. My point was more to do with basic lack of vocabulary. If you’re going to live somewhere you should at least make the effort to speak the language reasonably fluently. These clowns can just about order a beer and ask for directions to the train station and in that peculiarly English way, they think that’s enough to convince you that they’ve lived here all their lives.. Oh, and if ‘popular rock music’ does, as you assert, belong to a generation, then it was the one before mine. It’s just a join-the-dots course for no-hopers now..

    Anyway, truth be told, Brad has covered this much more succinctly than I’m doing here..

  5. Sorry, have I wandered into the curmudgeonly old scrotes’ club by mistake?

    I think you’re thinking of ‘rock ‘n’ roll’, A. Or maybe ‘beat’. Would you like a cardi for Christmas? Pipe and slippers?

    Mark, I apologise for my poor grammar. I merely meant that SOS is easy on the ear and pleasant to listen to. I was not calling into doubt the band’s craftsmanship.

    Everyone has their own taste and if you don’t like a certain type of music, don’t put yourself in its way was what I was trying to say. You’ll only end up suffering apoplexy, like young Connell-me-lad there.

    P.S. Last time I checked I was unencumbered of man’s best friend. I will banish my feminine soft-brained self immediately.

  6. But I like laughing at you..

    Here’s some blah blah bullshit that I’ve just made up (or maybe I read it in Heat magazine..):

    Culture in this country has been pretty much reduced to lowest common denominator. People would rather look up to the likes of Jade Goody and other meaningless individuals who make a living being famous for being fucked up and unemployable. Music is the same. There’s nowhere to go. All bands can do now is either repeat what someone else has done before them or find a tune of their own and repeat that instead.

    Trouble is, you can’t go out and see Stephane Grapelli or Ella Fitzgerald or The Beach Boys or Laura Nyro or anyone you might choose to hark back to. If they’re still around, they’re a shadow of their former selves.

    Snow Patrol and bands like them are particularly nauseating because their furthest back point of reference is probably U2. Not even MC5. U fucking 2.

    Most of the bands who are popular for five minutes have a similar laziness in terms of learning their craft. All they want is to get off their faces, get laid, earn shitloads of money and then end up waiting tables in a caff somewhere. They will play whatever three chords the NME tells them to play to be famous.

    Occasionally there are people in bands, as shit as those bands might be, who want to play more than three chords, who do go as far back as they can go to find music that’s different to what everyone else is emulating.

    But they’re as fucked as the people who are trying to find something decent to listen to that isn’t a reissue.

    Would you prefer aran or fairisle?

  7. That’s very funny. Forgive me if I don’t go into the reason why right now..

    It is funny, I agree. The power of suggestion is a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

