The Game of the Rose

I’m not a big game-player (yeah, right!), but I’m keen to get my hands on Mystery of the Abbey, a boardgame based on the Name of the Rose. Players have to solve the murder of Brother Adelmo in what would appear to be a bizarre reworking of Cluedo.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I particularly like the makers’ suggestions for possible accusations and inquisitions…”I think the killer is bearded,”…”The culprit is not a Franciscan.”…and my favourite,…”Do you have any Templars?”

One other nice touch – at certain points one gets the chance to inflict ‘penance’ on other players…now, that’s my kind of game…

Leave a Reply

